W2D1: I Am A Warrior

I did it!  I ran for 1 min, walked for 4 minutes and did it 9 times!

And not only did I do that but I did not get shin splints!

I did some research, and so did Whirlytwirl, and we did lots of calf and shin stretches before running. We also experimented with KT Tape on our shins.  During the run, every time I felt like there was twinge of shin pain, I adjusted the angle of my hips (holding them more in line with my torso and not sticking my booty out too much) and working on lifting my torso more with each stride (which alleviated some of the plodding feeling I was having that was leading to too much impact into my feet and legs).

The result: no shin splints!

That’s not to say that there was no burning in my shins, but it was distinctly different. The burning this time was the muscles and tendons getting worked hard, not overworked. I missed icing the shins this time (I won’t next time) and took an Ibuprofen.

I felt so awesome!

I’m working on being a good and supportive running partner, too. I cut out a most of the negative talk, including the negative self-talk. I’m still a total smart ass, that’s never going to change!  This time, however, I didn’t give Whirlytwirl the finger when she gave me the thumbs up. I didn’t stick my tongue out at her or frown or disparage the run in any way. I plastered a big smile on my face – which probably resembled a grimace most of the time – and enjoyed a moment of triumph after each running interval. There was some epic fist-bumping going on!

I’m so proud of us. I’m a little shocked that I wasn’t “destroyed” after this much more challenging run. I was expecting to feel horrible after the run, but I felt great. I felt like I’d earned the ache I had and that, if it had been asked of me, I could have done a few extra intervals.  I feel far less scared anticipating tomorrow’s run than I felt on Thursday and Friday thinking about the bump from 30 seconds to 60 seconds of running.

And I’m starting to see some positive physical effects of these 4 runs. Today, walking home from the hockey game from Copps Coliseum, almost 1km away from home, which is a walk that is almost entirely uphill, I was NOT winded from the walk. I wasn’t winded and I walked at a much faster pace than usual.

I am a freaking warrior!

One thought on “W2D1: I Am A Warrior

Leave a Reply

