Missing Out Of Action

I have been missing for a while. I have been walking a lot but haven’t been at all attentive to my nutrition. I’ve been eating out of control, buying chemical ice creams at the store, snacking on sandwiches late at night, drinking soda almost everyday and eating out on the road far too often.

I stopped going to Weight Watchers, partly because the distance and timing of the meetings is awful for my family and would end up encouraging us to eat out on the road every week. I wasn’t really following their plan anyway.

I like the points system, actually. I think it’s a smart approach to weight loss. There were definitely things I couldn’t get over, though, about their plan, that made it impossible for me to feel comfortable with the plan. I was getting angry over outdated nutrition advice given by leaders and I couldn’t get past that.

Plus: I hadn’t actually managed to lose any weight permanently after about $1000. It wasn’t a good way to spend my money.

The new book Foodist has proven to be an excellent investment.  I love it and will be writing a proper review when I manage to get the last chapters finished.

Walking has been going really well during the week mostly due to the fact that I was walking extra children to and from school for a family who recently welcomed twins. That meant I easily got within a thousand steps of my 10000 step/day goal. Now that we are switching gears into summer vacation, I will need to readjust and come up with ways of getting those steps in.

I got an Aria Scale from Fitbit and finally had the courage to hook it up this morning.  The number wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. My fat percentage number was a little shocking, but not surprising. This ability to track my weight at home and closely monitor my fat percentage is giving me an antsy feeling. I’m feeling experimental. I want to see if and how quickly I can start changing those numbers.

To that effect, I have a goal in mind: I’d like to lose approximately a dress size in the next two weeks. I don’t know what that means in terms of numbers. I just know that I’d like to be out of my current dress/skirt/shirt size by July 15th.

How am I going to do that?  Here’s the general plan:

  • Weigh myself every morning when I first wake up.
  • Drink water all day, except for one jar of tea.
  • Walk, call some friends and go for walks with them.
  • Eat at home every day, with few exceptions.
  • Snacks of fruit and veggies, with dip, only.
  • Kettlebells three times a week.
  • Play lots of loud music and dance with the kids.
  • Get into my garden and tame it up.
  • Meditate every morning.
  • Assume power poses (stand tall and victorious) for two minutes every day.

That’s it. I’m not going to beat myself up for slip ups. I’m just going to get on with living an awesome, quality life.

Diets are tough for me psychically. I do not ever want to live a life of denial or of hypervigilance. If I have to count calories or cut out entire food types, I’d rather be fat. Portion awareness is great for me, as is choosing quality ingredients and leaving cheap processed fillers behind. I’m focusing on eating reasonable amounts of nutritious food.

Do you have a short term goal?  What are you going to do to get you there?

Leave a Reply

