That Sweat Don’t Smell!

I just sniffed my underarms and they smell awesome!

OK, I probably need to explain that better. I just wanted to share my excitement right away.

One of my long term goals is to reduce the amount of harsh personal products from my life. About 4 years ago I made the big leap to stop using commercial menstrual products and I haven’t looked back. I use a silicone menstrual cup and reusable cotton and bamboo liners. There have been some distinct benefits to that switch: I’m healthier, more comfortable and I no longer pay a dues to a pharmaceutical company monthly just because I’m female and menstruate.

Now, I’m switching to a “natural” deodorant. I’ve stopped using my long time favourite Lady Speed Stick in Orchard Blossom and taken up with a new favourite, Penny Lane’s Tea-Tree-Lemon (VEGAN) stick deodorant.

A friend had given me her recipe for homemade deodorant, and I had intended to make it this week, but when I went to buy the ingredients, they were pretty expensive. Of course, I probably would have made enough deodorant for 6 months, but, well, $20 each for a couple of the ingredients seemed steep to me at the time. Instead, I spent about 15 minutes staring at a handful of “natural” deodorant options trying to figure out which to experiment with. I sniffed a lot of sticks.

I briefly, about 20 years ago, used a rock style deodorant from Tom’s of Maine but it was pretty much useless. That may have made me more than a little reluctant to try again. And, while I have no problem, in theory, with folks who choose to go natural, that kind of smell can get intense, especially through the very sweaty summer. I didn’t want to have people call me a hippie like it was a swear word every time they got close to me.

It is with relief that I report that even on a super sweaty day when even walking between the living room and the kitchen makes me break out into a sweat, I smell great.ย  The deodorant has been on my pits for well over 12 hours, even. It doesn’t smell like lemon or tea tree oil any more, but my pits don’t smell like anything else, either. And they are dry. They aren’t crumbly. There’s no residue like there usually is from the Lady Speed Stick.

I like that the ingredient list is small: baking soda, corn starch, coconut oil, tea tree essential oil and lemon essential oil. Also: I know what everything is in that list. I can’t say the same of the stuff on the shelves at the pharmacy. And it only cost $9 for 120 grams (as compared to $3 for 65 grams for Lady Speed Stick).

What do you use on your pits? If you make your own, share your recipe – I still haven’t ruled out making my own.

4 thoughts on “That Sweat Don’t Smell!

  1. Oo, I love that you tried a natural stick! Corn starch doesn’t seem to love my skin but I might give it a whirl if it works for you, guinea pig. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Pingback: A Tale Of Two Pits | The Right Fit

Leave a Reply

