Weight Loss and Life

I was down 2 lbs this week!

My total since early July is about 9 lbs. This means I am back to where I was before I gained a bunch this spring. I’m still 6 lbs heavier than I was last autumn but I’m feeling good about my ability to get back to that place. I’m feeling pretty good in general, actually.

What have I done differently? I’m mostly not eating junk. That’s pretty much it. I do indulge in high energy foods (chocolate and other delightful things) on occasion if I really really really (quoting my WW leader here) want them.  I don’t hold back from eating if I’m genuinely hungry but I have been checking in with how I’m feeling before I have a major snack to see if I’m actually hungry, bored, stressed out, or sad.  I have dutifully journaled all summer.

On the exercise front, I started yoga again but stopped when it was clear that my shoulder wasn’t hacking it. Turns out the mystery shoulder injury I had in late March was the start of “frozen shoulder”. I’m doing better now but it’s only about 60%. Physio 2x a week and daily exercise helps. I’m regaining my range of motion in that arm and can now put pressure on it, so I hope to be back at yoga soon.

In the life front, I’m going back to university! I’ll be the old lady there. Excited and nervous about those changes.

Also, I discovered mushroom pizzas and my life will never be the same again. Take a portobello mushroom, wash it, and cook it in a hot oven for 10-15 minutes. You might like to season it with a little salt and pepper at this point. Take it out, add your favourite sauce and your favourite toppings  — I did peppers, olives, onion, garlic and good cheese —  and bake for another 10 minutes. 4 points!

I added sriracha after. You’d be crazy not to! 😉

Image

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss and Life

Leave a Reply

